The Memorial Chorten,
The Memorial Chorten also known as the 'Thimphu Chorten', is a chortenin Thimphu located on Doeboom Lam in the southern-central part of the city near the main roundabout and Indian Military Hospital. The chorten that dominates the skyline of Thimphu was built in 1974 to honour the 3rd King of Bhutan, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck(1928–1972). This prominent landmark in the city has golden spires and bells.In 2008, it underwent extensive renovation.
This chorten is popularly known as "the most visible religious landmark in Bhutan".It was consecrated by His Holiness, the Late Dudjom Rimpoche.This chorten is unlike other chortens as it does not enshrine the mortal remains of the late King. Only the King's photo in a ceremonial dress adorns a hall in the ground floor.The King, when he was alive, wanted to build "a chorten to represent the mind of the Buddha".It is designed as a Tibetan style chorten, also called as the Jangchup Chorten, patterned on the design of a classical stupa, with a pyramidal pillar crowned by a crescent of Moon and Sun. The feature that is distinct here is the outward flaring of the rounded part to give the shape of a vase, rather than a dome shape.The chorten depicts larger than life size images of tantricdeities, with some 36 of them in erotic poses.
The Dochula Pass
The Dochula Pass is a mountain pass in the snow-covered Himalayas within Bhutan on the road from Thimpu to Punakha where 108 memorial Chortens or stupas known as "Druk Wangyal Chortens" have been built by Ashi Dorji Wangmo Wangchuk, the eldest Queen Mother. Apart from the Chortens there is a monastery called the Druk Wangyal Lhakhang (temple), built in honor of the fourth Druk Gyalpo (head of the state of Bhutan), Jigme Singye Wangchuck; the open grounds in its front yard is a venue for the annual Dochula Druk Wangyel Festival. The pass with 108 memorial Chortens is adjacent to the country's first Royal Botanical Park.
Paro Taktsang, "The Tiger's Nest"
Paro Taktsang, also known as "The Tiger's Nest" monastery, located in the Cliffside of the upper Paro valley in Bhutan, Paro Taktsang literally means "Tigress Lair". The Tiger's Nest hangs on a Cliffside precipice more than 10,000 feet above the ground. If the intricate temple complex doesn't wow you, then the sweeping views of the Paro valley surely will.
Paro Taktsang was built around the Taktsang Senge Samdup cave, where according to the legend the Guru Padmasambahva, who meditate three years, three months, three days, three hours in 8th century.
According to the legend he was transferred to the cave on the back of a tigress. This is why the monastery got its popular name - the Taktsang, which literally means Tiger’s Nest.
Later the caves became a holy shrine. Numerous famous Buddhist monks have visited these caves from the 8th century onward.
The idea of building a monastery near the famous holy caves belonged to the unifier of Bhutan as a nation-state - Ngawand Namgyal, who lived in the first half of the 17th century.
Paro Taktsang/Tiger’s Nest Monastery was built around the holy caves in 1692 by Gyalse Tenzin Rabgye - Bhutan’s leader of the time. He founded the monastery by putting its first stone during a visit to the holy caves in 1692.
In 1998, the Paro Taktsang/Tiger’s Nest was almost completely burned down - and was restored to its original form by 2005.
Paro Rinpung Dzong is 2300 meters, 7545 feet above sea level and 5 kilometers 3 miles away from the Paro town and 2 km away from the national museum or 1.2 miles.
The initial name of the dzong was Hungrel Dzong which was actually the name of a local deity of Paro, Jawa Neyp or Hungrel Gempo. The story behind the name is that There were two brothers that belonged to The dung family, the descendants of Lam Phajo Drugom Zhipo, Gyal chom, and Gyalzom. Gyalchog went to Tibet to learn Buddhism and Gyalzom went to Sikkim to build a monastery. When they met here at Paro, Gyalzom ignored Gyalchok and refused to accept him as family or descendant of Phajo Drugom Zhipo. Gyalchok was very disappointed with his brother that he surrendered himself to the local deity and later he himself became the Hungrel Gempo. Later, Hungrel Gempo (Gyalchok) built a five-store building and named it the Hungrel Dzong in the 15th century. lama Dungdung then offered the Dzong to Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel in 1644. Once Zhabdrung had it, he dismantled the building and rebuilt the dzong with the help of his half brother, first Paro Poenlop, la Nyenpa Tenzin Drugdra in 1645 and the work had been carried out again by desi Tenzin rabgay and was completed after 10 years and in 1655 it was named, Rinpung Dzong, the heap of jewels. There was an earthquake in 1897 and was rebuilt by the Paro Poenlop, kuzhu Tshering Penjor.
The Dzong was burnt down by fire in 1915 and was rebuilt by Tshering Penjor and Dawa Penjor. When the dzong was burnt down they could only save the 20 by 20 thongdrel of Guru Rimpoche which is displayed only on the 15th day of the 2nd month of the lunar calendar.
As we walk down from the parking we can see the native cypress tree, wearing willow trees, dogwood and a lhadhar (flag) and the national flag. On top of he lhadhar is a victory banner. As we enter the main entrance (external till or shoes are on), we can see the paintings of the four kids, emblem of Buddhism, four friends, and the bhava chakra. From the point of the Mongolian person holding a yak and tiger, (important because it signifies that we are Mongolian descendants and that we've encountered a Tibetan as well as a Mongolian invasion) towards the left is the office and towards the right is the monk residences.
The center structure is the utsi, 5 stored. There are 14 temples here but only two can be visited. As we walk down the stairs we enter the second courtyard, we can see the paintings of the bhava chakra. We can then see the painting of the biography of Jetsun Milarepa to the left.
Before the entrance of the second temple, we can see paintings of the transmission of Buddhism and the four friends. We can see the paintings of the different mandalas, cosmic mandala and the painting of the different heavens we can go to from lho zambuling. We can then see the general mandala that shows the impermanence of life. There are paintings of the Tshering namdruk, white Tara, songstan Gyampo, Manju Shiri, the 16 arhats and the emanations of Zhabdrung and the four guardian kings.
As we enter the temple, on the left to the top of the wall we can see the emanations of Namthoesey; Laxmi has grains in her hand but Zambala and kubey have a mongoose in their hands. We can then see the paintings of the three main masters who have spread Buddhism- chey namsum, guru, Zhabdrung and Buddha. We can then see the Manju Shiri, Kagay.
The big golden statue is the Jowo Shakyamuni, prince siddhartha at 12 years old, this tatie is here mainly to motivate the people to become a monk and attain enlightenment, when Buddha could abandon his luxury life and become a monk. There are the 16 arhats and inside the Namgyelma there is a statue of Zhabdrung. Paintings on the walls are of the guru with his consorts, Buddha, Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyal, Manju Shiri, Marpa, milarepa, God of compassion, medicine Buddha, and kagay khusum.
Source: the biography of Zhabdrung Rinpoches
Biography of Drung Drung
Biography of Paro Dzong
It is Located at 5Km South of Thimpu. It is one of the small and cultural meaning full dzongs of Bhutan. It is also known as "Samgak Zabdnon Phodrang " it means ("Palace of the Profound Meaning of Secret Mantras"). In 1629, This Dzong was built By Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyal, who is the Iconic Man of Country, because He has Unified Bhutan.
Simtokha Dzong is the first different kinds of Buddhist Dzong which made by Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyal in Bhutan. It was the Buddhist Monastery. Todays Simtokha dzong houses one of the Primary Dzongkha language learning institutes. It recently underwent renovation.
The popular story of this dzong is "guard a demon that had vanished into the rock nearby, hence the name Simtokha, from simmo (demoness) and do (stone)". In reality; this location was also a vitally strategies location for Bhutan which has protected Thimpu valley.
Today, This place is one of the most popular places of Bhutan, Because of Many Tourist (who wants to Know about ancient Architecture, painting & History ), They don't leave to visit this place.
Ta Dzong(1949): Today, it is known as the National Museum of Bhutan. It is located in the town of Paro in western Bhutan (3.1Km from center Paro to Ta Dzong). Ta Dzong was built in 1949. later, in 1968 it is renovated into the National Museum of Bhutan under the command of His Majesty, The third Hereditary Monarch King Jigme Dorji Wangchuk.
In this Museum the essential infrastructure was created to house some of the top Bhutanese Artist. In this Museum we can see the masterpieces of Bronze statue, any kind of historical, religious and cultural paintings. Suitable galleries have been created to the extensive collections.
Today in this museum have been displaying more than 3000 Bhutanese art which is present 1500 years to Present Bhutanese cultural heritage. Today this museum has been a major attraction for local Bhutanese and tourist.